Executive Committee

The structure of the Executive Committee provides for two representatives from the Eastern, Southern, Western and DFTC regional areas, coupled with two representatives from both the Naval Service and Air Corps.  Members of the Executive Committee are elected by the Association’s Annual General Meeting.  The Executive Committee’s regional representatives ensure efficient communications and accurate expression of members’ needs.  Convening on a monthly basis, the Executive Committee’s tenure of office is for one year.  In order to maintain its profile and to inform its membership, Regional Meetings are held during a year and are rotated in major Defence Forces barracks.


Appointments October 2019 – September 2020




Brig Gen Paul Pakenham

Vice President

Col George Kerton

Honorary Secretary

Lt Col Joe Ahern

Honorary Treasurer

Lt Col Richard Cummins

Honorary Membership Secretary

Col Richard Heaslip                                                                  

Immediate Past President

Cmdr Gerry O’Flynn (NS)



Eastern Region

Col George Kerton & Comdt Billy Campbell

Southern Region

Col William Harrington & Lt Col Michael Baston

Western Region

Brig Gen Gerry McNamara & Col Senan Downes

Curragh Region

Col Con McNamara & Lt Col Seamus Rouine

Naval Service Region

Cmdr Gerry Flynn (NS) & Capt David Barry (NS)

Air Corps Region

Brig Gen Paul Fry & Capt Ray Bonar




Col Sean Scanlon

Defence Forces Benevolent Fund

Brig Gen Liam MacNamee


Col Declan Carbery



Col Bill Nott

Comdt Pat Godfrey

Capt Ray Murphy



Comdt Pat Casey